Washington Post obtains Trump ballroom donor list: about $333 million, including undisclosed donors (Oct. 15, 2026) Case On Oct. 15, 2026 the Washington Post, citing an internal fundraising spreadsheet, reported that private donors gave about $333 million toward Trump's White House ballroom, with at least $77 million from donors who asked to stay anonymous. Several donors had matters before the administration around the time of their commitments. The Post says its reporting does not establish a connection between donations and favorable government actions; former DOJ pardon attorney Liz Oyer characterizes the pattern as bribery and money laundering, and the White House says it does not disclose private donations and condemned the leak. What the Post reported (Oct. 15, 2026) Documented in news reports of the Post's story: citing an internal fundraising spreadsheet, the Post reported about $333 million from private donors toward the White House ballroom, including 67 donations above $10,000 recorded as of late September, and at least $77 million from donors who asked to remain anonymous. The Post's own text was not read for this entry. The White House had publicly named only 37 donors last October without individual amounts. Trump is not on the donor list, though he has said the project is being paid for entirely by him and some friends. (Other outlets describe the Post as counting 57 donors or companies giving $100,000 or more; the counting basis differs.) Largest listed gifts: $25 million each from Nvidia, Apple, the Adelson family and Dish Network chairman Charles Ergen; $22 million from Google, from a settlement of Trump's YouTube lawsuit; more than $20 million from the Laura & Isaac Perlmutter Foundation; $10 million each from Lockheed Martin, Microsoft and Palantir. Donors with matters before the government (as summarized from the Post) Isabela Herrera committed $2.5 million to the ballroom in September 2025 and had given $3.5 million to MAGA Inc. Her father, Venezuelan banker Julio Herrera Velutini, was indicted on bribery charges in 2022, had them reduced to a misdemeanor in August 2025, and was pardoned by Trump in January 2026. Oyer adds that Herrera's only prior political donation was $20 to Pete Buttigieg in 2020. Neither Herrera nor her father responded to the Post's requests for comment. Charles Ergen committed $25 million months after regulators dropped an investigation of his company, while a sale awaited federal approval (as summarized by Raw Story). A subsidiary of Daniel Gilbert's Rocket committed $10 million three weeks after a federal housing agency approved Rocket's purchase of a rival (as summarized by Raw Story). Oyer says authorities "looked the other way" on the antitrust review of two acquisitions; that characterization is hers. Salesforce and CEO Marc Benioff committed $3 million in total, and the Army awarded Salesforce a contract worth up to $5.6 billion after one bid, between two of those commitments (per Raw Story). The New Republic lists Salesforce at $2 million; the discrepancy is unresolved. Joseph Popolo Jr. and his wife gave $1 million two months after he was confirmed as U.S. ambassador to the Netherlands (per Raw Story). Oyer says he "was made ambassador" after donating; as summarized, the Post places the donation after the confirmation. Responses and open questions The Post says its reporting "does not establish a connection between the donation commitments and favorable actions by the Trump administration." The White House did not answer the Post's specific questions. It said it does not disclose private donations to nonprofits and condemned the leak; spokesman Davis Ingle said it will "relentlessly pursue those responsible for this cowardly leak." It also dismissed the conflict-of-interest claims, arguing critics would complain if taxpayers paid for the renovations. Oyer says the donations are routed through a charitable organization, the Trust for the National Mall, making them tax deductible. This entry has not yet confirmed the fund's structure or tax treatment from a source it read. Perspectives Expert view — Liz Oyer, former DOJ pardon attorney Oyer says the ballroom project is "basically a money laundering operation" and that Trump is using it as "a front to accept cash payments in exchange for political favors." She says the donor list was meant to be secret because it shows "the way you get a favor from Trump is by cutting a big check," and calls Herrera's gifts a bribe for her father's pardon. She is a former pardon attorney who says she was fired from DOJ; Attorney General Todd Blanche has denied her account of why. Her bribery and money-laundering characterizations are her own legal inferences, not findings of the Post or any court. Official position — White House (spokesman Davis Ingle) The White House says it does not disclose private donations to nonprofits, condemned the leak as "cowardly" and promised to pursue those responsible, and dismissed the conflict-of-interest claims, arguing critics would complain if taxpayers paid for the renovations. Research notes Opened Oct. 17, 2026 after the user shared a Katie Couric Reel featuring Liz Oyer (transcribed from the user's screen recording). The original Washington Post article (washingtonpost.com/investigations/2026/10/15/secret-documents-reveal-donors-behind-330-million-trumps-ballroom/) was NOT read; facts come from the Daily Beast, Daring Fireball, Raw Story and The New Republic summaries. Discrepancies to resolve against the Post: donor count (57 donors of $100,000 or more per Oyer and TNR vs. 67 donations above $10,000 per Daily Beast and Daring Fireball); Salesforce total ($3 million per Oyer and Raw Story vs. $2 million listed by TNR); timing of each donation relative to each government action; the role of the Trust for the National Mall (Oyer says donations run through it, making them tax deductible; not yet confirmed from a source read). Oyer's claim that Herrera's donations got her father's charges reduced and then a pardon is her inference; the Post gives the sequence only. To check: the Post's own text, the Trust for the National Mall's statements, FCC/FTC/FHFA records for Dish and Rocket, Army contract data for Salesforce, and the pardon grant record for Julio Herrera Velutini. Related: existing entry on East Wing demolition and ballroom private financing. Note The Post says its reporting "does not establish a connection between the donation commitments and favorable actions by the Trump administration," and the White House dismisses the conflict-of-interest claims; critics such as Liz Oyer argue the sequence of donations and government actions amounts to quid pro quo bribery. Sources [1] Daily Beast (citing Washington Post) (https://www.thedailybeast.com/trumps-suck-up-ballroom-donors-are-finally-unmasked) · 2026-10-15 [2] Daring Fireball (summarizing Washington Post) (https://daringfireball.net/linked/2026/10/15/trump-ballroom-donor-list) · 2026-10-15 [3] Raw Story (https://www.rawstory.com/trump-ballroom-money-laundering/) · 2026-10-16 [4] The New Republic (https://newrepublic.com/post/216672/list-white-house-ballroom-donors-trump-corruption) · 2026-10-15 [5] Liz Oyer video (Instagram Reel posted by Katie Couric) · 2026-10-17 Connections Same context — White House East Wing demolition and ballroom private financing The donor list is the first itemized look at the private financing described in the East Wing demolition entry.